Why am I getting charged during the free trial?

When you sign up for the free trial to our recurring subscription, billing and payment gateways make a pre-authorization on your card (typically, but not always, this is 72 hours before the actual transaction). Verifying your payment information makes for a seamless auto-renewed subscription, avoiding any future billing issues, and ensures that your access to Topic is not interrupted. This is a standardized payment practice. The money is not charged but reserved.

Upon canceling the subscription during the trial period, the amount will be released from the credit card.

In some cases, such as pre-paid credit cards, this pre-authorization can be shown as a completed charge. Please be aware that this is due to the nature of the card. If you choose to cancel the subscription during the free trial period, this amount will be released and shown as a chargeback on your card.

Was this article helpful?
14 out of 30 found this helpful